Will You Stay

Will you stay tonight
Will you watch the night go blind
The moon losing its sight
Will you stay inside my mind.

Have you ever seen bluebirds flying home
Raging waves crashing on menacing stones,
Have you ever heard autumn leaves rustling
The colours of winter skies fading to dusky tones.

Will you remember this moment,
Will you remember what we felt tonight
Will you never leave this dream
Will you be my shining armoured knight?

How can you say you won’t?
How do you know you will?
Won’t we make mistakes, stupid errors of time
How do you know you’ll take it all in stride?

Have you felt lovebirds floating away
Emotions seeping out of a heart aweigh,
How do we know this will last
Wrap us in the warmest thoughts.

How do I know you will stay,
Will you, or will you not today?
How do we know if this is it
All we’ve been waiting  for in the past.
This time of our lives
May never really last.
Does it mean we move away
Never search for bluebirds,
Or, watch the orange hues play.
Does it mean we weren’t meant to be here,
To wake up, to stay.


I wrote this for Zabir on his birthday. I promised him I’ll give him something special, and these lines came to me all of a sudden. I don’t know how good it is, but it felt nice to write it for someone. I just hopes he likes reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

  1. #1 by Fahmim on July 4, 2008 - 1:41 pm

    nice write,diya.
    the construction, build-up, transitions, flow are all really good.

    Lucky Zabir!nobody ever writes me anything!

Leave a Reply

