Another Groggy Morning

Wake up!
Wake up!
Wake up!
To the humming of hummingbirds.

Wake up!
Wake up!
Wake up!
To the honking of a monstrous metropolis.

Wake up!
Wake up!
Wake up!
Life won’t wait for long.

No, I won’t wake up
To the sound of life calling.
No, I won’t get up
Even if everything was meant to happen this morning.
No, I won’t leave my bed
For the music that’s crying.

This is just another of my groggy mornings.

Listening to Mum screaming,
Eggs frying, pans smashing,
Brushing teeth, drinking coffee
Flapping the newspaper for the same old stories.

No, I won’t wake up
To meet a new day unfolding.
No, I won’t get up
For my world is still dreaming.
No, I won’t leave my bed
These pillows will be crying.

Stereos blaring, crashing cars
Geeks on their books, memorizing names of stars.
Final countdown, this is your last chance,
For life is calling, as impatient as the morning birds.

No, I won’t wake up
Yell your heart out, your best shot.
No, I won’t get up
Let life screw its way ’round this lot.
No, I won’t leave my bed
Even if you pay me a million bucks.

This is just another of my groggy morning.


I’m beginning to think my exams are taking a toll on my sanity. If this were to be a song (well, that’s how it came to me), I’d start the “wake up” bit with a hard rock intro and slow it down into a sleepy, mono murmur at “no, i won’t wake up”.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

