An Ode to My G9

The photo above frames a rare kind of insect known as Shoitaan’er Ghora (translate: Horse of the Devil). You don’t usually find it in Dhaka, and I was “fortunate” enough to shoot one in Cox’s Bazar this weekend. I quote the term -fortunate- because I dropped (and thus, broke) my camera while shooting it. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, THAT is the last photo I shot. The spring and cover of my lens broke, and my G9 is a wreck. I still haven’t managed to take it to a service centre due to certain “technical difficulties”. Surprisingly, I’ve been a proud owner of the Powershot G9 for only two months. I owe it a testimonial since this baby has competed with SLRs and has managed to snap pretty darn nice photos while providing me with immense satisfaction in this short period. It has been very kind to me. Thank you, darlin’!

If the camera cannot be fixed, be it for whatever reasons, this stupid insect will probably be my last capture until I get a new camera (which, btw, will NOT be anytime soon). Tssk tssk.

I feel like somebody took my kid away from me and fed it to crocodiles.

Final words to the insect: I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU. DAMN YOU!

  1. #1 by yesbuts on July 2, 2008 - 7:06 pm

    Wouldn’t be without my G9 – great for macro, and about every other kind of shot.

  2. #2 by 18forlife on July 2, 2008 - 7:15 pm

    Yeah, I know that. Thanks for reminding me what I’m missing!

  3. #3 by Fahmim on July 2, 2008 - 8:00 pm

    this is a preying mantis…a fascinating creature.a kid fahmim was overwhelmed as he observed one of these years ago.

    but believe me when i tell you,i hate this particular individual insect almost as much as you do.

    i hope and pray [yes, literally pray] that the G-9 recovers to full health.
    amen.

    one more thing.you are an amazing photographer, and if there’s anything called divine justice, karma, whatever, you will get her back.

  4. #4 by Vats on July 2, 2008 - 8:04 pm

    well.. thats a nice photo right there… and for the god work ur doing i am sure u will get ur G9 back better than ever.

  5. #5 by Diya on July 2, 2008 - 9:37 pm

    Thanks Fahmim and Vats! These are tough times! -sighs-

    I realized it’s called a praying mantis this morning. In fact, a friend of mine made it his mission to bestow me with all the facts re: this stupid insect. It’s a carnivore, and apparently, if I didn’t shake my hand vigorously (in the process, drop my camera), it would’ve clung to my skin pretty tightly.

    I would’ve been fascinated about such info on a different day. Now, I just want to kill it. Interestingly (and predictably), the damn insect was NOWHERE to be seen after the accident. It just vanished, so my urge to watch it die when I repeatedly hit it with my sandal was not fulfilled.

  6. #6 by Russell on July 3, 2008 - 12:49 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your camera… Rangs Electronics service center might be of help, their technicians get regular training from Canon. They fixed two of my film cameras once, and I was very happy with their service. Well, best of luck for you.

  7. #7 by Fahmim on July 4, 2008 - 2:07 am

    any updates on “her” present healt conditions?

  8. #8 by Amos on July 5, 2008 - 12:49 am

    Oh no! I hope you get this sorted out soon. You are way too talented to not have a camera.

  9. #9 by Donald on July 15, 2008 - 8:50 am

    last photo you took. what a way to go out

Leave a Reply

