The Sun Is Blue

If I were you, Rain
I would’ve played you a symphony,
B-flat, a tuneless harmony
The chords would’ve shivered heavens,
I would’ve made the goddesses
Bleed with your pain.

But I am not;
I am merely a shrugged reflection,
Tinted mirrors don’t recognize me anymore.

I am a shadow of your past,
That flick of joy
Long passed.

I am your sun,
Golden dust that cracked you inside out,
Once.

I’m a smothered bit of hope
What you would cling onto
At your darkest abstraction.

Those were just reveries, I believe
The sun has cast its final rays.
I am exhausted
Of playing the same old games.

Rain god, I envy you
I cannot make the infinite skies
Weep the way you do.

I am that silver lining,
Which your rage can overrun;
I am no longer myself
Broken visions far beyond.

The sun has set
On the Northern skies.

Rain god, I call upon you to ignite
A herculean flame so cold
That it would sink my pain
Into a bittersweet memory.

  1. #1 by Aftab on July 14, 2008 - 3:39 pm

    Diya, you are very gifted. You are truly brilliant with your photos and your verse is equally powerful and provocative, if not more. I am glad I came across you.

  2. #2 by Diya on July 14, 2008 - 7:48 pm

    Thank you ever so much, Aftab Bhaia! This is REALLY encouraging! *jumps up and down in glee while flapping her hands like a murgi*

Leave a Reply

