Here Without You

If there’s one thing in the world that I am missing more than anything else, that will have to be my camera. I was shooting with a friend’s DSC-H3 the other day and although it produced some quality shots, it didn’t really compliment me. I felt uneasy, as though I was committing a crime by gripping onto a substitute that would mean an insult to my beloved. I actually felt I was cheating on my G9. Creepy, eh?

I remember the first time I held ‘him’. ‘Him’ – I insist – I’m straight and if I’m about to get involved in a bittersweet relationship with a ‘living’ thing, it better be a ‘he’. We clicked immediately – he was mine, I was his. He snuggled between my fingers, responded in coordination to my impulses and blinked at pace with my pulse.

It was perfect. A match made on Earth.

He saw what I didn’t see, reminded me of things I would clearly forget and I began to grow dependency on him. After all, I am only human. I felt incomplete without his weight strapped around my neck, I felt burdened to leave him home. He was my guide, my mechanical eye – he was what I couldn’t be.

Now I see things he used to see. I watch, I wait – I am now a powerful remnant of what he has made me. My hands feel empty, my soul hollow. It wants to be fed greedily, it wants him back.

At any price, I want my G9 – my beloved – to be back.

  1. #1 by G9 on July 25, 2008 - 6:45 pm

    i don’t want you no more… go away stalker😛

  2. #2 by Diya on July 25, 2008 - 7:23 pm

    I will break your leg, Elvis! G9 wants me, trust me!!!!

  3. #3 by Anarchy360 on July 25, 2008 - 9:00 pm

    I bet your bf (if there’s any) will be envious of your g9😛

  4. #4 by Russell on July 26, 2008 - 6:10 am

    Awww… how romantic!😉

  5. #5 by abench on July 26, 2008 - 8:49 am

    hehe I share the same sentiments with my camera, and have named her – indeed, it’s a ‘she’ – Naina.

    So I can sympathize. Don’t think I can hold another’s camera either, unless it’s a 5D (in which case, I’m sure I can lose my inhibitions about the matter :P) – but in any case, I hope your G9 returns🙂

  6. #6 by bdgamers on July 26, 2008 - 11:56 pm

    Fix your G9! Better yet… get a SLR :-p

Leave a Reply

