Karwan Bazar

So, yesterday was one of those when I plugged in my new memory card into the Sony H5 (still belonging to my sister, but I get to use it occasionally) and decided to go on a photo hunting trip. I have certain “dream location” for photo stories, but the melting rain obstacled this bacchas’s grand plans. Nonetheless, the inquisitive, energetic child is difficult to stop, so on my way to Daily Star, I made a quick stop at Karwan Bazar. Being drawn towards portraits, I clearly took more shots of that kind; but a couple of pre-Iftar shots came along the way. I confess – Zabir did influence the whimsical me. And thankfully, he was right behind me with his camera, shooting away happily as drops of rain tried to restrain our euphoric mission. In a span of 30 minutes and an overdose of mud-and-water, this is what I captured.

Note: I never want to have Iftar at Karwan Bazar. If you’re viewing while you’re fasting, I don’t think you’d feel very comfortable when you sit with food the next time. You would, ofcourse, if the food is actually extremely mouth-watering. Under those conditions, thank God because you’re having the better meal.


Sabhanaz Rashid Diya
September 18, 2008
Karwan Bazar, Dhaka

  1. #1 by NiH on September 19, 2008 - 12:43 pm

    Those does “NOT” look delicious. Infact, these days I hate iftar-outies. The regular, cliche items sold everywhere taste mostly like diarrhoea. Can I call “Boro Baper Polay Khay” as a witness.

    Its not those flying vermins that irritate me either.

    Bashar Iftari is the best.

  2. #2 by 18forlife on September 19, 2008 - 1:00 pm

    I agree. Thus, the note I added in the end. Nothing beats Bashar Iftari, my friend! They actually look grotesque. If you’re fasting, you would feel tempted to fast for longer hours! *grin*

    Good ol’ candid, dear?


    Diya

Leave a Reply

