The Namesake(s)

Occasionally, I get bored. Extremely bored. In my boredom and temparamental depression, I enjoy doing strange, obnoxious things. So, this time I typed my name ‘Diya‘ on Google Search. Although the initial purpose was to blow my own trumpets and undergo an ego boost from estimating my virtual popularity; I ended up making some pretty awesome discoveries.

Like for instance, this dude called Diya Abdeljabbar. I thought it was a chic when the name popped up in the search listings, but apparently, it’s a really smart dude from New Jersey’s Science and Technology University. NJIT writes:

“Diya Abdeljabbar, a recent NJIT graduate, will pursue a PhD in the fall at Princeton University, where he won a full scholarship to study chemical engineering. NJIT gave him many chances to learn and succeed, and Diya capitalized on all of them.

“If not for the great education I received here I would never have gotten into Princeton,” says Diya. “All the credit goes to NJIT, which gave me so many opportunities to learn.”

Diya is the kind of student that NJIT takes pride in educating. He comes from a modest economic background. His parents immigrated to America from Ar-Ram, a suburb of Jerusalem, when Diya was a baby. The couple settled in working-class Union City, N.J., and Diya attended the public high school there — Union Hill. His father, who went to technical school, worked as a sheet-metal contractor and welder. His mother stayed home to raise the children. He has an older brother, who works as a pharmacist, and a younger sister who recently graduated — first in her class — from Union Hill High School.”

He also has a really interesting picture of him up, so if you’re interested, you can read more about him here:
http://www.njit.edu/features/student/diyaabdeljabbar.php

Much to my joy, I also collided with two social work organizations that carries my name on their banners. Diya Foundation (http://www.diyafoundation.com/) is a vocational training center that provides for disabled people in Bangalore, India. Since I have an innate interest in community service, the discovery was quite a precious one. Next up was Diya – a social welfare network – based in Chennai, India. With an impressive website, it started off with a group of inspired students. Their motto – which comes in tandem to what 1di’s tagline does – advocates Winston Churchill’s famous line:
“We make a living by what we get; we make a life by what we give”
To read more about Diya, click: http://diya.org.in/

Apparently, there’s also an artist on Last.fm  called Diya-Al-Din. I’m assuming he/she professes in Nasheeds since similar artist’s included the likes of Irfan Makki and Mina Seyahi. Very little information could be found on him, so if you’re interested (I wasn’t for some odd reason), you can visit:
http://www.last.fm/music/Diya+Al+Din

I had more surprises left for me. Like that real-estate company in Lagos, Nigeria labeled Diya, Fatimilehan & Co. They claimed to provide useful information regarding the right property for you and had a dandy looking photo of a family of three up on their website. Very cheerful, indeed. The house on the backdrop was really pretty and I couldn’t put the happy family and the pretty house together in one photo. It looked utterly fake and photoshopped – but maybe it’s because I come from a place where everything is so double-headed and forged that I find flaws in every bit of life. If you need a house up in Nigeria, feel free to contact them!
http://www.diya-fatimilehin.com/v2/main.cfm

A lovely discovery brought me home to a photo blogger who goes by the name Diya Peter (http://diyapeter.shutterchance.com/). A thought-provoking, heart-rendering image up front of a graffitti art caught my attention immediately. It was so raw, so true yet so aesthetic. The shot was taken with a Nikon D70 and with my weakness in photography, I felt blessed to have come across it.

The last, but somehow the most intriguing find was a blog of a guy/girl who’s got different meanings of my name on a post. I couldn’t his/her country or language, but I have a feeling it could be Malay.
http://crayonkakak.net/2008/09/22/d129-lingkaran-cahaya-di-planet-zuhal/
The photo in the centre really did the spell. It was so pretty!❤

Diya means light. The light of a lamp. I think that information in itself is magic enough.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

