Visiting the Cannes

I don’t really like blowing my own trumpet. In fact, I would rather be without it. However, I figured this is a news I can’t help but share, and I am thankful to a lot of people for bringing me to this moment. So yes, for people who know have played a role in my becoming, do know this is a toast to you for your support and love.

A couple of months back, I submitted three photographs at the Sony Cannes World Photography Awards 2009 Contest. There were 10 categories (for ‘Amateurs’) and recently, I came to know one of my photos have been shortlisted into the Top 10 under the category of ‘Music’. 183 photographers from across the globe have been selected and shortlisted (10 or more in each category under the labels ‘Amateur’ and ‘Professional’, so 183 in total), and I couldn’t believe I made it! It was even cooler to know I was the only one from Bangladesh, and it felt really good see my country’s name up in that list.

The second round of judging would have selected the Top 10 photos from the 183 shortlisted ones, and clearly, I didn’t make it through that round. That means I don’t get the prize money; however, I already had more than I could ask for.

So, I received a mail a few days back that read the following:

From a total of 25,370 images entered into the amateur categories alone, it was certainly a difficult decision for all our esteemed judges to narrow the many excellent entries down to the shortlist and then the winner. We thank you for your hard work and commitment to capturing and submitting some amazing images.

Having been short-listed, your work will be on display at the Winner’s exhibition in Cannes as well as featured in the 2009 SWPA Winner’s Book – so congratulations once more on getting to the top 10!

Scott Gray
Managing Director

Sony World Photography Awards
World Photography Awards Limited
9 Manchester Square
London. W1U 3PL
United Kingdom

Like I said, I already got more than I asked for.

Thank you everyone (you know who you are) for your continuous support and belief in my abilities. I still remember the days I dragged Tushmit or Amreen through Dhanmondi Lake to practice portraits, or begged Rajiv to buy me a camera. And Zabir, you know I would not have even participated if you hadn’t pushed me hard enough. I love you all.❤

A very big thanks also goes to my niece, Zara (who is one now) on whom I practiced each and everything about photography I learnt. I don’t think I would have come to this day without her.

As for everyone who will get tagged in this note on Facebook, I am eternally grateful to you for giving me a place to express myself. I never thought I’ll be someone carrying a camera and loving it so much! (=

Thanks to all my Flickr buddies, RS peeps and folks at Drik. You’ve all been an inspiration! (=

The winning photo and shortlisted nominations

The photo on Flickr

I still don’t consider myself a photographer. I am growing, learning and evolving every day. However, it still gives me joy to know all this. woot!

May God bless you all.

  1. #1 by Paul on April 11, 2009 - 10:47 pm

    Congrats! I’m in Dhaka for the week and will hope to create an image half as beautiful.

  2. #2 by Razia Sultana Khan on April 13, 2009 - 10:02 am

    Hi Diya,
    Congratulations! What a credit you are to IUB! We’re very proud of you.
    Razia (Dept. of English, IUB)

    • #3 by 18forlife on April 27, 2009 - 11:47 pm

      Thank you, Ma’am! =)

Leave a Reply

